top of page
Search
  • keitholiver0

Turning her over again.

I needed to turn the boat over again to finish the fairing and make sure the keel fitted okay. The boat was a lot heavier now and turning her proved a lot more difficult than the first time.

I had to stap some long lengths of timber either side of the boat around the cockpit so we could use them as a lever to turn the boat.


There was lots of creaking as the frame and straps took the strain of the boat, It was a big relief to have her turned back over and supported again.


I lifted the keel up onto the boat using my mainsheet blocks and a rope over one of the roof beams. I made a bed for the keel base using some structural bog and lowered the keel onto it and left it to set overnight.


I then completed the fairing of the hull, by this time I was really starting to feel the time pressure to get the boat finished. I spent hours and hours sanding and fairing and then repeating. I got to the stage that I just needed to call it a day, I knew that with more time I could get a better finish but I just needed to move on.

I put two coats of epoxy primer on her and she really started to look good.


I then turned her back over ready to complete the fit out, this time I knew what to expect and it went a lot easier.




31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page